My hobby: Blasting 9-bit chiptune music out of my windows whenever I’m on Stanford campus.

You know how there’s music that makes you cry because it reminds you so poignantly of certain things?  Maybe it reminds you of a loved one, maybe it reminds you of an experience you once had…maybe it reminds you of a breakup, or of graduation, or of a last dance, or anything.

Yeah…but there’s also music that makes you cry simply because of itself alone.  It doesn’t even have to have words.  Who needs words to express emotion???  Isn’t the larger part of emotion expressed via non-verbal communication anyways?  It’s not because it reminds you of anything…it’s not empathy that you’re feeling.  It’s just the things that are embedded in the song itself.

Do you have songs that are like that?

I feel like it’s unfair for me to point out songs that are written by myself, so I won’t.  I’ll point out some other ones instead:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeuMHOZ_bcY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVcFztNKCWQ

I’m not sure if they’ve -actually- made me cry before, but they’ve certainly come close.

Leave a Reply

