While it makes for a good comic, this isn’t actually representative of me…I do express my emotion very intensely, for instance when I’m sad.  Well, at least around the people that I am comfortable with, you can really see it and feel it in my entire body when I am upset–just, I will never put it in words.

It’s kind of hard to draw sad eyes with such simplistic eye shape though.  Well, I mean, there are “worried” eyes, and >_< eyes, and crying eyes, and yeah that’s not that bad.  But it’s hard to draw Sayuri looking “forlorn” or “depressed” without being so overtly “loud” about it.

This is what I’m going for:

This part of “Draw With Me” is really so powerful to me, because of how well the expression comes through and resonates with me.  With eyelids half-shut and looking down…one thing that I know for sure is that when I am sad, I find it extremely hard to look people in the eye.  And the way he looks down even more before writing out his real wish–that is really what I would do.  Well, except I probably wouldn’t write out my wish so easily and quickly after that, haha.

Anyways, it’s really difficult to get that effect with dot eyes.  I might have to actually try experimenting with more complicated (but still simple!) eyes…

Leave a comment