OHC172

http://compo.thasauce.net/rounds/view/OHC172

Tonight’s theme is “The Rush.”

My bonus entry: http://compo.thasauce.net/files/DDRKirbyISQ_-_Forgotten(OHC172).mp3

My entry: http://compo.thasauce.net/files/DDRKirby_ISQ__-_Rush_Jet(OHC172).mp3

After hearing starla’s entry last week I had the idea of doing a remix and layering my own stuff on top of it, so an hour before compo started I worked on that and produced the bonus entry, which actually took me less than an hour as far as I can recall.  It’s not quite that well mixed–partly because I couldn’t take out the piano in the original mp3 and such, but it’s still pretty nice for just messing around :)  Hooray for starla’s voice!

As for my real entry…the theme popped up and I was like huh…I didn’t really feel like doing something that sped up, or something superfast, so…instead I went with word association, and the first thing that came to mind was Rush from the mega man games.  So I rolled (haha, “Roll’d”…get it?) with that idea and decided to make a mega man style track.

I didn’t want to use famitracker though, so I just did my best to simulate it using FL Studio, armed with my chiptune-ified 3xOscs and that spiffy NES VST that I got a while back, and some other stuff.

Anyways, not too much of this is quite -that- notable except for the intense section at 1:19, and also the riff at 3:12 which definitely feels like it came out of a mega man game, and is really just quite awesome.  But all in all this was pretty fun to make, features more melodic content than my usual entries (which is why it isn’t quite as long), and really achieves what I was going for.  Yay!

Someday I’ll make something really awesome in famitracker :)

Leave a Reply

