OHC168

http://compo.thasauce.net/rounds/view/OHC168

Tonight’s theme is… THE BIG FINALE!

My entry: http://compo.thasauce.net/files/DDRKirby_ISQ__-_Destination_TBD(OHC168).mp3

This was a rather quiet OHC, since a lot of people were out for the holidays.  The theme came up as “TBD” so I started going with that, only to notice a bit later that fusion2004 had changed it to “the big finale”, so I kind of mixed in both of those.

My track didn’t really have too much direction but feels sort of inspired by this track.  We start off really spookily before going into some UNTS with sidechaining.  The section at around 3:00 is becoming a pretty classic trademark of my style–triangle bass down low, some pulse wave pads, and a lead soaring up high.

The real kicker this time was what I decided to do for the ending.  I go back to the main “groove” section, only this time I start layering more and more on top of it.  Then I accelerate the tempo…and bring the pitch up…and after a final glitch we get a massive explosion xD  So there, that was my “big finale”!

Yeah, overall I didn’t really feel too inspired on this one.  It’s funny–sometimes I pump out a track and I say “wow, this is so totally my style” because it has all of my trademark elements–the funk groove section, the transition into a 4-on-the-floor beat, the breakdown with epic soaring melody, the sidechaining, even the instruments.  But then there are times when I’m not really feeling it and I go to those trademark elements almost as a sort of fallback, and in those cases it doesn’t really work out nearly as well.

Leave a Reply

