I noticed the other day that the person I was talking with listening to wasn’t looking at me when they were talking.  I might be becoming even more observant of people, such that I can consciously think about the way they’re speaking and the way they’re acting separately from what they’re actually trying to communicate to me.  Perhaps that’s what you’re enabled to do when you’re not busy thinking about what you’re going to say in response.  In any case, I wanted to make some conjectures, but right now I don’t have enough data–I haven’t noticed too often whether other people look at me in the eye or not.  Which makes sense because -I’m- always averting my eyes anyhow.  But that says something about us.

Leave a Reply

