I hadn’t actually played -that- Taylor Swift song in a really long time; in fact the last time I heard it proper might have been at Senior formal.  I don’t know how many times I just hit skip, but this time I was just like oh what the heck.  So I keep it on and I’m singing along for once because I’m actually driving by myself, and for some reason even though I’m not really thinking about the lyrics or anything, I start crying a little.

It confused me.  It -almost- embarrasses me, but nah, not quite.  And I wasn’t about to complain, because god damn, I love that emotion whenever I can get to it, but what -was- it about those sections that got to me?

But she wears short skirts, I wear T-shirts
She’s Cheer Captain and I’m on the bleachers
Dreaming about the day when you wake up and find
That what you’re looking for has been here the whole time

Can’t you see that I’m the one who understands you?
Been here all along, so why can’t you see?
You belong with me

Standing by and waiting at your back door
All this time, how could you not know?
Baby, you belong with me, you belong with me

I don’t have any person at all that I was thinking about, so there’s no “you”, and there’s definitely no “belonging with me”, but I think the parts that resonated were the other ones; the thought of being “on the bleachers” and “waiting at the back door” since I’m a goddamn coward an angel, and naively hoping for that “magic” to come and rescue me, as always.

Or was I even thinking of the words at all?  It can’t -just- have been the music itself, if anything it was probably some sort of subconscious association that I’ve had with it that was helping the effect.  Except this song isn’t particularly meaningful to me like I know some other ones are.

Weird.  I guess it is just the meaning of the words, and probably also the fact that I was singing them.  Yes, the fact that I was actually vocalizing them probably had =everything= to do with it.

God damn.

Leave a comment