OHC141

http://compo.thasauce.net/rounds/view/OHC141

What if the world were empty, but for you? What if you were so deep in trouble, with no one to turn to? Abandoned and unable to overcome a problem? Tonights theme is “Stranded.”

My entry: http://compo.thasauce.net/files/DDRKirby_ISQ__-_Madness(OHC141).mp3

Stranded, eh?  Perfect for starting off with slow ambient meandering pad textures, so that’s exactly what I did!  Much use of Alchemy soundscapes, Motion, and Texture, and there’s even a sine wave pitch slide that’s very reminiscent of Earthbound.  I even used a texture from Crystal!

Then comes in a beat with a bit of swingtime to make it groovy, and i made it all lofi and slightly distorted.  Yay for chunkiness.

After that the next section is basically just me having fun chopping up a bunch of stuff–the piecemeal bassline is a chopped up bassline loop, and the percussion loop that comes in is sliced up too.

Then there’s this deep, deep bass from Triangle II that I looked at and said “hey, what happens if I turn the filter cutoff up on this bass” and voila there was an epic lead…so that’s exactly what I did, after a pretty long buildup.  And at that point we’re into UNTSland.

I get the feeling I could have mastered this a little bit louder, but oh well whatever.

A neat entry, but not that kickass.  I’ll try again next time, maybe with a song that has a repeated chorus and maybe even a catchy melody.  Maybe I should also try and do more detailed work on things instead of doing really long songs.  I’ve also really been wanting to do chiptune stuff, so maybe i’ll do that…

Leave a Reply

